Safeguarding policy

‘We have a commitment to safeguard all our children’.

We all have a responsibility to act if we are worried about a child. All Children have a right to be safe no matter who they are or what their circumstance.

We are proud to be a Trauma Informed School - for more details, click on this link:  TIS
As an Operation Encompass School, we are able to support children who may have experienced domestic abuse.  For more information, please see the section on our useful links section of the Safeguarding area.
Please find our Child Protection and Safeguarding Policy below:
The Designated Leader for Child Protection at Charlestown Primary School is Mark Clutsom.
The Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) is the person appointed to take lead responsibility for child protection issues in school.

The DSL will:
• work with the Senior Leadership Team to ensure safeguarding is at the heart of the school ethos and that all staff are supported in knowing how to recognise and respond to potential concerns
• as required, liaise with the local authority case manager or the designated officer at the local authority if a concern has arisen regarding a member of staff
• liaise with staff on matters of safety and safeguarding and when deciding whether to make a referral by liaising with relevant agencies
• act as a source of support, advice and expertise for staff.
Please see below the Designated Safeguarding Lead and Deputy Designated Safeguarding Leads in our school.
Mr Mark Clutsom

Headteacher / Designated Safeguarding Lead

I also have responsibility for supporting E-safety across the Kernow Learning Trust
If you have any concerns or questions about e-safety, please get in touch.

Mrs Jess Poole

Co-Headteacher / Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

I am the Designated Leader for Children in Care and Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead for Child Protection at Charlestown Primary School.

Mrs Amanda Jones

EYFS Lead / Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

Miss Liz Burnett

Assistant Head / Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

Mrs Nikki Foster

Assistant Head / Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

Mrs Lynne Dewar

Chair of Governors and Safeguarding Governor